The Symphonic Euphonium II

£10.00 £5.00

David Childs plays Vaughan; Williams, Gregson, Mealor, Ball

Play list:

1-3. Concerto for Tenor Tuba and Orchestra (Ralph Vaughan Williams)

4-6. Concerto for Euphonium and Orchestra (Edward Gragson)

7-11. Concerto for Euphonium and Orchestra (Paul Mealor)

12-14. Concerto for Euphonium and Orchestra (Michael Ball)

In stock



David Childs is joined by the BBC Philharmonic and Ben Gernon for this second volume of Euphonium concertos, featuring music by Vaughan Williams, Mealor, Gregson and Ball. King Edward III once said: “If you want to train a longbowman, start with his grandfather.” This adage holds just as true for British euphonium soloist David Childs, born in 1981, to a family whose name had been synonymous with brass for the last two generations.

His grandfather John was a well-respected euphonium player from the Welsh Valleys who inspired his sons, Robert & Nicholas to take up euphonium. Robert began teaching his son David from an early age and in recent years David has emerged as one of the finest brass soloists of his generation. In the year 2000 he broke new ground for the euphonium becoming the first euphonium soloist to win the brass final of the televised ‘BBC Young Musician of the Year’ which led to David’s highly acclaimed première performance of Philip Wilby’s Concerto for Euphonium with the BBC Philharmonic under Yan Pascal Totelier.

In the same year David was awarded the coveted ‘Euphonium Player of the Year’ title, a title he won again in 2004 and still holds today. Since that time David has been instrumental in raising the euphonium’s profile in the classical world of music and has not ceased to wow audiences with his astonishing technique, extrovert musicality and engaging stage presence.

Additional information

Additional information



About brand
Chandos Records is one of the world's premiere classical music record companies. Founded in 1979 by the late Brian Couzens and quickly established itself as one of the world's leading classical labels.